Why is RescueTime for iOS not tracking my mobile data?
If you're not seeing mobile data reports, please be sure to check the following:
Does RescueTime for iOS need to be in the background to track my mobile time?
Yes. RescueTime for iOS must be running in the background to track your mobile time. You can press the home button and leave it in the background. However, you cannot completely force quit the app.
RescueTime for iOS is reporting mobile data but not activity details
Yes, this is the expected behavior. The lack of activity details is due to Apple's restrictions. It's currently not possible to create apps that measure usage or provide website details. If it changes in the future, we'll be sure to offer this feature.
What are the differences between RescueTime for iOS and Screen Time?
Apple's Screen Time feature can provide you with activity specific durations for specific apps and websites. RescueTime for iOS is limited to showing total device usage. This is a limitation placed on us by iOS. The data in Screen Time is available exclusively to Apple and we are unable to access it.
You can run RescueTime for iOS as well as Screen Time. In fact, we recommend that you used both. The main benefit of using RescueTime for iOS in conjunction with Apple's Screentime is that you'll see your mobile time integrated with your Desktop usage on your RescueTime Dashboard. It gives you a more holistic overview of where you spend your time.
Why does RescueTime for iOS use Location Tracking?
RescueTime is limited by the privacy and security restrictions on iOS. Developers of iOS are not allowed to track app usage or certain other details that are possible on other desktop and mobile operating systems. We have found location tracking the most effective way of providing users with meaningful information about the time and places they use their iOS devices are part of healthy work/life balance.
Your location data is private and remains on your devices and is never sent to our servers.